top of page

A Poem by Chloé Boulianne - Residential Schools

I am Ayana Elu and I am terrified but strong

I wonder if my family will be okay

I hear my Mom and dad say “It's going to be alright.”

I see my parents fade as the bus leaves my home town

I want to go home to my parents and grandma

I am Ayana Elu and I am terrified but strong

I pretend that I am laying in the field behind my house with my dog, Luna .

I feel angry that people that took me away from my family and hometown

I touch my face as tears fall from my eyes and down my clothes

I worry that I will never go back to my family or home ever again

I am Ayana Elu and I am terrified but strong


I understand that I can not leave the school

I say that I am brave and strong

I dream about my family telling my how brave and strong I am

I try to keep it together and to stay strong

I hope that one day I will go home to my family

I am Anyana Elu and I am terrified but strong


Cover image: Cultural Survival

17 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Commentaires


bottom of page