top of page

A Poem by Lily Pollock - Residential Schools

I am Stella Achak and I am brave and fierce.

I wonder if I will be okay at this school.

I hear my dad’s voice in my head saying, “you will be okay.”

I see my parents' sad faces as they wave goodbye.

I want to go home and see my father, mother and grandma.

I am Stella Achak and I am brave and fierce.

I pretend I am dancing in the vast fields of wheat on my farm.

I feel anger at the people taking me away from everything I love.

I touch the bumpy hard seat of the bus and a tear rolls down my face.

I worry that I will never see my family or my home ever again.

I am Stella Achak and I am brave and fierce.


I understand that there is nothing I can do about my situation.

I say, “But I will be brave.”

I dream that grandma is there with me saying, “You are my strong beautiful Stella.”

I try not to think about what will happen to me at this school.

I hope I will see my family again.

I am Stella Achak and I am brave and fierce.


Cover image: Cultural Survival

22 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page